100 Years of Care & Compassion
Sunnyside Communities, chartered in 1912 in Danville, Virginia and organized under the auspices of the Synod of Virginia, the “Home” received initial funding from churches in the Synod.
- 1909 – Reverend C. W. Maxwell proposed to the Synod of Virginia that a home for aging Presbyterian women be established
- 1912 – Charter granted in Danville to Sunnyside Home
In January, 1912, a charter was obtained incorporating the Sunnyside Home, with C. W. Maxwell as President, J. W. Cook, Vice-President, and C.H. Friend, Secretary and Treasurer. Six others were elected to form the first board of directors.
Discover Sunnyside: An enriching and nurturing environment that continues to grow with its history. Since its charter in 1912, Sunnyside has become one of the premier continuing care retirement communities in Virginia.
- 1921 – Sunnyside Home opened
- 1929 – Alice Burton passed and bequeathed to Sunnyside her victorian residence
- 1932 – Danville ladies on the porch of the Alice Burton Hall
- 1954 – Construction began in Harrisonburg
- 1955 – Sunnyside Presbyterian Home in Harrisonburg opened
- 1957 – Reverend Harold H. Leach became the first male resident of Sunnyside
- 1959–Sunnyside added floors to the north and south wings to accommodate 24 rooms
- 1963 – Bettie Bickle Home residents moved to Sunnyside Presbyterian Home
- 1965 – 55-acre setting planned for 40 cottages to be clustered in four “neighborhoods” (1966 groundbreaking below)
- 1967 – First cottage built (Beulah Echols in one of the first cottages)
- 1971 – Resident dances with Sunnyside medical director on her 100th birthday
- 1972 – Margaret Curd sewing on her 102nd birthday
- 1972 and 1976 – Phases I of the Pannill Health Center
- 1976 – Mr. Sam Shrum encouraged the board by writing the words “It can be done.”
- 1987 – Sunnyside celebrated its 75th Anniversary. Name changed to Sunnyside Presbyterian Retirement Community
- 1988 – The Highlands opened on the Sunnyside campus The Highlands dedication occurred.
Located on 112 picturesque acres in Martinsville, Virginia, King’s Grant offers an active community life with privacy when you want it.
- 1993 – King’s Grant – the second Sunnyside community – opened in Martinsville
- 1997 – George S. Aldhizer II Wellness & Therapy Center dedicated at King’s Grant
Located in the heart of Virginia’s Shenandoah Valley, Summit Square is a distinctive continuing care retirement community. Nestled among the tree-lined streets of Waynesboro, just a short drive from the entrance to the picturesque Blue Ridge Parkway.
- 1998 – Summit Square opened as Sunnyside’s third community in Waynesboro
- 2001 – University Plaza purchased and corporate offices moved to this location
- 2002 – The Villas opened at Sunnyside
- 2003 – A Time to Build campaign launched
- 2004 – Meredith Chapel opened
- 2006 – Groundbreaking occurred for The Glen at Sunnyside (Dick Lyons, President and CEO)
- 2007 – The Glen completed in November
- 2007 – New dining venue (Tartan Grill) opened at The Highlands
- 2008 – The Glen opened and was dedicated at Sunnyside
- 2008 – Summit Square celebrated its 10th Anniversary
- 2010 – Multi-Sensory Starlight Room created at Sunnyside
- 2011 – Care Cove program established